Q1: What are the states where I can carry?
A1: View Map details »
Q2: Are you sure this class will be accepted by my circuit court?
A2: Yes. Our certificate is accepted by every circuit court in Virginia for resident permit issuance, and by the Virginia State Police for their issuance of non-resident permits. Since July 1, 2009, it must be accepted as a matter of law.
Q3: Is my Credit Card information safe?
A3: Yes. With nearly 10,000 online transactions, we have not had a single report that a person's credit card information has been compromised.
Q4: Don’t you have to fire a gun to qualify for a Concealed Handgun Permit?
A4: No. Virginia law calls for taking a firearms training OR a safety class. Learning handgun safety does not entail live fire, shooting for a minimum score, or even touching a gun. This course satisfies Virginia law in that it teaches firearms safety. For anyone who wants to develop or improve marksmanship skills, we recommend learning firearms training from a professional instructor using live fire and shooting for a minimum score. This class provides a strong foundation for one to begin live fire training.
Q5: Can the video be paused and resumed?
A5: Yes. We recommend watching the instructional video in its entirety, without interruption; however, there are bound to be times when that is simply not possible. It is perfectly alright to pause the streaming video.
Q6: How do I apply for a resident Virginia Concealed Handgun Permit?
A6: Apply through the clerk’s office of the circuit court in the city or county you reside. Some localities require fingerprinting, some don’t. By law, the court must issue your permit within 45 days from the acceptance of your application. Localities set the fee for the permit they issue, but under no circumstance may they charge more than $50.00.
Q7: Where do I get the Concealed Handgun Permit application form?
A7: Right here. You may download the application from this site, from the Virginia State Police web site, or in person at any circuit court clerk’s office. If filling out the form at home, do not sign it until you are in front of a clerk at the circuit court, since it is necessary for them to notarize your signature.
Q8: Do I need to take the class if I am/was in the military?
A8: No. Virginia recognizes your military service as qualification to obtain a permit. Take your military I.D. card and a copy of your orders showing that you are duty-stationed in Virginia to the circuit court in the locality in which you reside. Retired military should take a copy of their DD-214 form as evidence of military service.
Q9: How long before my VA Non Resident CHL arrives in the mail?
A9: It can take up to 90 days to receive your permit in the mail.
Q12: Can I renew my Non-Resident Virginia CHL?
A12: Yes. The renewal process is identical to the processes and costs associated with the original permit with the exception of proof of competence with a handgun. New photos and fingerprint impressions will be required. It is suggested that all renewal application packages be submitted at least 60 days prior to expiration of the existing permit.
Q13: Where can I find out more about laws/regulations concerning my VA Non-Resident CHL?
A13: Everything you need to know can be found here: Laws & Regulations ».
Q14: What are the Photograph Requirements?
A14: If you go to MorphoTrust or similar agency for Photo & Fingerprints, they will know the proper photo requirements. They can be seen HERE>>
Q15: I am all ready to send in my application to Virginia, am I missing anything?
A15: Here is a checklist of everything that you should include. View CHECKLIST>>
NOTICE: As of February 1, 2016 Delaware, Florida, Louisiana, Minnesota, North Dakota, Pennsylvania, South Carolina, Washington, Wisconsin, and Wyoming will NO LONGER recognize the VA Non-Resident Permit. The Non-resident permit is still recognized in Alabama, Alaska, Arizona, Arkansas, Idaho, Indiana*, Iowa*, Kansas*, Kentucky*, Mississippi, Missouri, Montana, Nebraska*, North Carolina, Ohio, Oklahoma*, Tennessee*, Texas, Utah, Virginia, Vermont, West Virginia*, Wisconsin*.
* = Special Requirements must be met.
Address to send my application...
Firearms Transaction Center
Nonresident Concealed Handgun Permits
Criminal Justice Information Services Division
Department of State Police
P.O. Box 85141
Richmond, VA 23285-5141